Personal Song Of The Day: Angel Eyes by Jack Jones

 

The universe has a unique way of using music to communicate our truest feeling: music communicates to us what our deepest fears and loves are, however one must be open to receive the musical messages.

Jack Jones’s version of “Angel Eyes” has been in my spiritual space: which mean that his version of Angel Eyes is always on my mind, I sing it while alone, and I always have to hear it while spinning for the day.

My attraction to “Angel Eyes” initially was the smooth way Jack Jones sung the lyrics compared to the versions I was accustomed to by Ella Fitzgerald and Frank Sinatra. Also, the arrangement for “Angel Eyes” has a moody film noir tone and swagger that I find irresistible.

In reality, the universe used “Angel Eyes”  to awake me and encourages me to be more social and don’t feel as if I don’t have anything to give society at 50. It says to me to not to be afraid of love when its near, because I find that I question often if I want to play love’s game.  If not then I should just get content with viewing life from the sidelines.

Excuse me while I disappear – Angel Eyes

 

Jack Jones – Angel Eyes (Wives & Lovers) 1963 by Matt Dennis & Earl Brent

Try to think that love’s not around            jack jones lp
But it’s uncomfortably near
My old heart ain’t gaining no ground
Because my angel eyes ain’t here

Angel eyes, that old devil sent
They glow unbearably bright
Need I say that my love’s mispent
Mispent with angel eyes tonight

So drink up all you people
Order anything you see
Have fun you happy people
The laughs and the jokes are on me

Pardon me but I got to run
The fact’s uncommonly clear
Got to find who’s now number one
And why my angel eyes ain’t here
Oh, where is my angel eyes

Excuse me while I disappear
Angel eyes, angel eyes

Leave a Reply

