Personal Song Of The Day: Light My Fire by The Doors

“Light My Fire” performed by the Doors takes me back summer of 1989 and two close friends; Chris and Eric. We shared our love for great music and great pot and we did both quite often. On one particular trip we had decided take a trip to Stetson Beach, and while we were cruising down the highway in a Volkswagen Jetta,  the Doors version of Light My Fire came on the radio: I first heard the disco version of  “Light My Fire” by Amii Stewart in 1978.  Completely captivated by the musicianship of the solos and the intensity of Jim Morrison’s voice and approach to the lyric that I instantly became a lifetime fan of The Doors.  I have listened to “Light My Fire” a million times since that summer day in 1989, and  I still get excited whenever I hear  this classic song.

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire – Light My Fire

 

The Doors -Light My Fire (The Doors) 1967 by Robbie Krieger, Jim Morrison, John Densmore & Ray Manzarek

You know that it would be untrue TheDoorsTheDoorsalbumcover.jpg
You know that I would be a liar
If I was to say to you
Girl, we couldn’t get much higher

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire

The time to hesitate is through
No time to wallow in the mire
Try now we can only lose
And our love become a funeral pyre

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire, yeah

The time to hesitate is through
No time to wallow in the mire
Try now we can only lose
And our love become a funeral pyre

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire, yeah

You know that it would be untrue
You know that I would be a liar
If I was to say to you
Girl, we couldn’t get much higher

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire
Try to set the night on fire
Try to set the night on fire
Try to set the night on fire

Leave a Reply

